Boston Red Sox win the World Series for the third time in 10 years

After a 6-1 win over the St. Louis Cardinals in Game 6 of the World Series, the Boston Red Sox have won their third title in the last 10 years.

Pay per head services realize that this title was even more special as it represents the first World Series that the Red Sox won at Fenway Park since 1918.

John Farrell joins Terry Francona, Ed Barrow and Jake Stahl are the only Red Sox managers to win the World Series in their first year.

This year’s Red Sox and the 1991 Twins are the only teams to win a World Series one year after a last place finish in their division.

David Ortiz was named World Series MVP after hitting .688 (11- for-16) with two home runs, six RBI, seven runs scored and a .750 (18- of-24) on-base percentage.

Koji Uehara, who tied a record with seven saves in the postseason, struck out Matt Carpenter for the final out to begin the celebration on the mound.