Jameis Winston wins Heisman Trophy

Florida State freshman quarterback Winston won the Heisman Trophy in a landslide last Saturday, becoming the youngest player to capture the prestigious individual honor.

Pay per head services witnessed Winston’s statement: “It feels great to be part of the (Heisman) family. I just thank everyone with the Heisman Trust that allowed me to be in it. It feels great. I cannot explain the feeling that I have inside right now.”

The 19-year-and-342-day-old Winston is the second straight freshman to win the award after Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first to do so last year.

Winston has thrown for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns, both FBS freshman records and he helped lead unbeaten Florida State (13-0) to No. 1 in the BCS standings for the first time in 14 years.

Winston’s margin of victory was the fifth largest in the last 50 years, earning 668 first-place votes and 2,205 points, 1,501 more than Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron, who finished second with 704 points.

Quarterbacks Charlie Ward in 1993 and Chris Weinke in 2000 are the only other Florida State players to win the Heisman. Weinke coincidentally was the oldest Heisman winner.